Ensemble Decipher 

Ensemble Decipher is a modular, experimental music group that performs with vintage, contemporary, and emerging technologies. Founded in 2017 by Niloufar Nourbakhsh, Ensemble Decipher strives to redefine performer virtuosity by drawing on the technological advancements of our time in order to highlight new voices and ways of listening. By reexamining new music and integrating technology into their performance practice, Ensemble Decipher seeks to reflect on and challenge the power structures that lace the field of electroacoustic music. Recent works commissioned by the group have mobilized network technologies, accelerometers attached to rocks, boxes trained via machine learning to respond to touch, acoustic instruments, and laptops. This has led Ensemble Decipher to collaborate with notable composers and technologists including Mara Helmuth, Margaret Schedel, Hannah Davis, Yaz Lancaster, and Lainie Fefferman and premiere works by many others. Recent feature performances include concerts at the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States, International Computer Music Conference, New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival, Network Music Festival, and an ensemble residency at EarFest. Current members include Joseph Bohigian, Robert Cosgrove, Eric Lemmon, Chelsea Loew, Taylor Long, and Niloufar Nourbakhsh.

Burnside Percussion

Burnside Percussion is a flexible percussion chamber group co-founded by Taylor Long and Dianna Hnatiw in 2017.  Their debut concert SoundScrapes was held at Hipbone Studios in Portland, OR.  Additional activities have been supported by grant funds from the Beaverton Arts Program.

Past Events:

Percussive Journeys concert at Beaverton City Library Auditorium, Wednesday June 27th 2018 at 6 PM.

Burnside Percussion Beaverton poster


the lonelyness of Santa Claus by Fredrik Andersson

Retrouvailles by Georges Aperghis

Flourish by Sarah Hennies

Ambient Resonances by Peter Klatzow

Shi by Alexandre Lunsqui (with additional percussionist)

Dimension 5 by Joe W. Moore III

Clapping Music by Steve Reich

Angels by Stuart Saunders Smith (with additional percussionist)

Cross Hatch by Toru Takemitsu